Unknown 1950’s Jazz Lp on RCA

winds1

Track Listing:

Song of the Bayou

Those that live by the Swordfish, die by the swordfish

Take me out to the ballgame

Ode to a Mode

Newton the Fig

Three Speeds Forward

Part
Two:  A Foggy Day

When your lover has gone

Aren’t you glad you came

What a way to run a railroad!

Fagotte Gavotte

You’re just a cucumber

I recently purchased this above Jazz Lp by Stuart McKay and His Woods, entitled “Reap the Wild Winds”.  McKay plays saxaphone and bassoon. Ernest Victor Mauro-oboe; Jerry Sanfino- English Horn; Tom Mace-flute; Albert Richman or John Barrows-French Horn; John Saunders-Piano; John Porcello-Guitar; Bill Halfacre- Bass; Ted Paskert-Drums; and Suzanne Lovell-Voice.

The liner notes are by Bill Zeitung and copyrighted 1955. Othereer than the liner notes, does anyone else out there know what became of Stuart McKay and his Woods? There is virtually no information on the internet about him, except a Time Magazine paragraph on new Jazz records for 1955. Any other info would be really satisfying to my curious mind.

This is an amazing piece of audio history. The bassoon is played with speed and acuracy as are the rest of the instruments, when combined, create a thouroughly pleasing and unique sound.  I own many, many, many jazz Lp’s, but this is the one that I frequently come back to on a regular basis. It has never been reissued, and has since forever gone out of print. This is unfortunate, because as you can see and hear, it is very fresh sounding, despite being half of a century old.

10 Responses to “Unknown 1950’s Jazz Lp on RCA”

  1. daniel soutif Says:

    i just bought the 3 EPs 45 rpm edition of this recording. It’s really a very fascinating music. This record is mentionned is the James Lord Discography, but there are not other recordings of the same musicians signaled in that very complete database. You made some mistake in your zip : the sides are mixed, some numbers present in the first zip are also included in the second one, and three numbers are missing (Take me out to the ballgame / Ode to a Mode / Three Speeds Forward). But thanks anyway for the good job you did (may you complete it ! It would be perfect because your LP seems to be in much better condition than my EPs!.)

    • I don’t know what happened to him – and wished I could re-purchase the one I had. However, I did hear him and the group in person about 1957 at the Birthday Celebration of the City of Miami Public Library. They played several from the album, a few others and their fractured version of “happy birthday”. They were fabulous!

  2. Joe Bradley Says:

    Would you, by chance, have an mp3 of “Take Me Out To The Ballgame” by Stuart McKay? I am in desperate need of this number, but have had little luck finding it. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Joe

  3. Thank you for this fabulous post! I bought this LP 30 years ago, and fthlast 10 I had nothing to play it on. Now I can hear it again. “Take Me Out To The Ballgame” is a must, to hear.

  4. I noticed that some of the songs are repeated and some are missing acording to the track list. It is, however an excellantly digitized LP.

  5. Fabulous job on digitizing this LP. I hope you have time to repost it sometime, some songs are repeated, and some missing. The ones that are there are great copies, very clean.

  6. I there any chance of a repost of this one, it is fabulous. And a well done job digitizing.

  7. Bryan Wolfe Says:

    Unfortunately Stuart MacKay passed away a few years ago. I had never heard of him until very recently, when his daughter brought some of his instruments into my music store to sell. I have been trying to find more background info on him since. Not only did he play”jazz basson” but did classical work as well and played in many Broadway shows in New York. But even more interesting than that, he made his early career in the 1940’s as a tenor sax player playing mostly with Eddie Duchin but also did a stint with the Jimmy Dorsey band.
    I have a bad tape copy of the album and I really enjoyed it. There is some stuff on there I have never heard a basson do.

  8. I just opened my humble website ‘jazzlink.nl’. There you can see the EP A 75 256 of Jazz Moderne (RCA) – Stuart McKay. It’s one of my favorites.

Leave a comment